Return

Four seasons have changed in Japan since I left, but hardly in Hawai’i. My father passed away late August and I rushed back. After a series of events and ceremonies, I returned to Hawai’i with my mother so that she could refresh herself. She did not forget to carry Father’s photo. I was happy visiting sights with my mother that I hadn’t yet seen, as well as favorite places.

The window of the studio to which I moved faces east. Every morning we would wake up in bright natural light, but it was soon too hot for the end of October.

Morning sunshine

Over Diamond Head:

The face in the photo

Warming up

3 Responses to “Return”

  1. Others may disagree (hopefully!), but this short haibun may be a little too personal to draw the average reader in. I do think that the final image in the haiku, where a person has been reduced to a photo interacting with sunshine is moving, and if it were not for something of the preceding prose, we would certainly not be able to appreciate it. There is a similar situation in our house at present, as my wife’s mother passed away recently and has suddenly become a photo.

  2. Hmmm… i sort of like the basic idea of the morning (mourning) sunshine warming the face of a deceased one in a photo. Perhaps a resurection? However, I agree, as Tito points out, that the preceding prose is important to understanding the essence of the haiku.

    Sure the haibun is a bit personal, but it reminds me of Basho sharing his feelings about his mother’s death.

  3. Hisashi Miyazaki Says:

    御無沙汰です。
    遅ればせながら、お父上の御逝去お悔やみ申し上げます。
    お母上をハワイにお連れされたのは良いアイデアだったと思います。きっと感謝されていると思います。
    標記poemは前文がなくても、どなたか大事な人をしのんでいることがわかりますね。写真が温められてゆくということで、それが亡くなった人というのもsuggestされます。前文でお父上だということは特定されますが、そのことは読み手にとって特に重要なことではないように思います。
    以上、いつものことながら意味不明の鑑賞文です。ワイキキの浜を思い出しつつ。

Leave a Reply

