In Black & White

Dawdling in snow-flakes,
Circling, rising, falling out—
A wild spate of crows.

京都 四条堀川 1.16.2011

6 Responses to “In Black & White”

  1. Thanks, Mark. Like that ‘spate’! Great black-and-white!

    • A footnote: in Britain, we use the phrase ‘a mob of crows’. In a poem, I once came up with the collective noun ‘fable’ to describe a collection of poets moving through a park.

  2. Thanks, Tito. A “fable.” Asking the implied question: what are these fabulists a fable of (other than poets)?

    Mob of crows, is it? I think in the States we generically say “flock.” But these crows spated the skyline; burst after burst.

  3. Buson crows-in-snow tie on sale here:
    http://www.zazzle.com/japanese_crows_in_snow_tie-151752499082147059
    Really, you must all take a look!

    • Suh-weet! (the tie, that is)

      A ‘flock’ of crows reside in the woods by my new school – or should I say I’m a new student … they are obviously a family group, with their own inflection of sounds when they call to each other. A bit different from the dialect of the city crows near my apartment, who have a different edginess to their communication. Are the city dwellers more stressed? Or is their stridency meant to overcome the noise and confusion of the humans rushing about beneath them? Perhaps they are a ‘murder’, or a gang of crows. Are your crows in the city, Mark, because they are so wild, as you describe them?

      I look for the Preserve’s crows as I cross the bridge by their wooded ground as I travel to and fro from a course in field biology on most days. Even when I’m not thinking, trying to focus/not focus on my breathing, I can’t help but notice their often playful antics, or sometimes hear their friendly calls to one another. They happily disregard us, unlike the city crows, who seem to challenge us when Dottie and I take walks through the streets and alleys.

      Dottie, Buddha that she is, remains unpertubed – unless, of course, the rabbit is about!

      siblings
      locked in mock battle!
      winter crows

      • Hi Willie,

        Yes, my crows were city crows. Above Shijo Street between Horikawa and Karasuma. They seemed oddly obtuse in their purposes.

        Best,
        Mark

Leave a Reply

