Kikakuza Haibun Contest 2011 Results

This year’s Kikakuza Haibun Contest attracted 85 entries from 15 countries. The standard was high. The four prize-winning pieces are here to read on a special page Kikakuza ’11 Winning Haibun accessed via the page link at top right. Details of next year’s Contest will be announced later. Thank you to all who took the time to submit a piece and hearty congratulations to the winners.

Grand Prix:

Memories of the Sun by Melissa Spurr (USA)

Za Prizes (Highly Commended):

Ladle by Earl R. Keener (USA)
Last Journey by Sonam Chhoki (Bhutan)
Remembrance of a Time to Come by Moira Richards (South Africa)

Honorable Mentions:

Strange Bedfellows by Margaret Chula (USA)
Kayo by Toshi Ida (Japan)
Return Home by John Parsons (UK)
Coal Dust by Patricia Prime (New Zealand)
Hill Country by Peter Newton (USA)
I sigh, through all my smiling, at the thought of long ago by Gael Bage (UK)
Winter Subway by Ellis Avery (USA)


2 Responses to “Kikakuza Haibun Contest 2011 Results”

  1. Personal thanks to Icebox contributors / Hailstone Haiku Circle members, Toshi and Ellis. Brilliant showing in the Contest!

  2. Earl Keener Says:

    I wish to personally (virtually) thank the judges for their
    confidence in my haibun. I found your comments
    both insightful and entertaining. Also congratulations
    to all–


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: