From the Icebox inbox – 24

winter moon
pink camellias
till it’s time to go   ………   Michael Henry Lee

frost on the pane.
winter words shaken down
– icy cold breath     ………   Claire Gardien

moonlit shadow
the old dogs lick
each other    ………    P K Padhy

winter work day
filling the wheelbarrow
full of sunshine     ………   Michael Henry Lee

Immortal Love

Under a strong breeze
Kinoshita’s grey ricefield
Turns green and yellow.    ………    kamome

6 Responses to “From the Icebox inbox – 24”

  1. A very nice potpourri of haiku, thanks, nameless contributor. I like Michael’s, especially the second one. PKP’s is also very visual. Fun poetry, but why this particular collection? The prize winners in some contest? Haiku found scrawled on a wall? The haiku by tomato sauce may be a bit too long, and is difficult to understand for me. I can’t find the Love.

    • Respected Prof. Richard,
      Many thanks for your poetic appreciation of my haiku. I feel haiku represents the art of nanotechnology in literature. Gratitude to all the Masters of the Japanese wonderful literature.

      P K Padhy

      • Nanotechnology? Presumably you mean by this precision and no wastage, right? I, too, enjoyed your image of the two old dogs, although I remember many wilder ones on my visits to India that were out to bite me if they could!

  2. John Dougill Says:

    Like Richard I’m drawn to Michael’s, though personally the first one appeals to me more because of the succinctness… and like Richard, I’m puzzled by the last contribution. But why ‘tomato sauce’, Richard?… that last verse is written by a seagull, surely. Talking of which, there’s nothing so delightful as the yurikamome currently adorning the Kamogamo… Ah, would that my imagination could soar and capture their essence in verse, but all I can come up with are leaden words that refuse to take flight… To capture a seagull in a haiku, or a season in a blade of grass; ay, there’s the rub!

    • The tomato sauce reference is to a brand name of that delicious stuff. Isn’t there such a brand on the grocery store’s shelves? I think so, hence the reference. I’ll have to go shopping with Good Wife Kimiko next time to verify my belief.
      I like the haiku on the whole, nevertheless. Reading them makes me want to put pen to paper. This freezing weather does force one to keep hands in pockets, however, even inside our (old, wooden, leaning) house. Still, everywhere, there is haiku awaiting to be born. I subscribe to a daily Issa haiku offering. Some of this great poet’s works could be leaden at times, as John D. sometimes suffers from.
      However, onward we must march, our poetry flying above our heads like seagulls in this harsh winter wind. Occasionally it will soar; occasionally, it will dip. Maybe, like Jonathan Livingston Seagull, our haiku may crash into a rock wall, leaving us devastated. So it goes in the art world.

  3. What a delightful selection. They all have charm. Love the wheelbarrow full of sunshine and the moonlit shadows and old dogs licking. Immortal love stands alone as a line here ..? Tomato sauce? What tomato sauce? Never mind. Winter moon and frost on the pane – evocative cold weather images.

Leave a Reply

