February & March in Haruna

Tito has helped me select a few from the haiku series I composed in Haruna, Gunma during February and March this year. I hope you might like some of them.

Nobuyuki Yuasa (Sosui)

野良猫も今日はのんびり日を浴びる
A stray cat feeling
carefree today, blissfully
basking in warm sun

立ちたるも伏したるも梅咲き出でる
Standing or sprawling,
the plum trees have all begun
to blossom at once!

味噌汁に蕗を散らせは春匂う
Chopped butterbur shoots –
sprinkle them into your soup
and spring scent arises

春の滝ネットの旅であまた見る
Net-surfing in March:
in a jiffy I can appraise
so many spring falls!

7 responses to “February & March in Haruna

  1. One thing I do note about these selections; compared with some of my past writing, they embrace an ease and lightness in topic and text.
    To the contrary, I’ve willingly chosen phrasing before conveying excessive drama or emphasis to convey some social meaning beyond a more nuanced observation. More often than not I think it would happen attempting some allusion to another social interaction.

    Not quite as profound as I’d thought. Disappointing, actually, in retrospect of a phase or period in my experience.

    Here I sense the poet’s enjoyment and open eye willing to find delight in the directness of description, without any need for artifice.

    Indeed, our dear friend John Carley once mentioned in some context wherein the writing of haiku had become a solipsistic endeavor to a certain group or culture. Perhaps an added distinction, yet carrying too much weight or misdirection.

    Yet our poet at hand might interject his presence, it is not intrusive but offers a welcome perspective.

    • Nobuyuki currently has trouble with his password, so he asked me to post this reply. (T)

      Thank you for your comment. I am also interested in writing haiku dealing with social and political issues, but if you are not careful your poems sound more like senryu than haiku. I think we must adopt rather indirect approaches to social and political issues in haiku. My poem about plum blossoms in this selection has a social issue in its background. Here in Gunma, many plum trees are cut down or abandoned, partly because aging farmers have no young successors, and partly because the production of pickled plums is no longer a lucrative business. Anyone who knows this will not take my poem as a simple description of nature. But perhaps, my approach this time is too indirect or too weak. I prefer haiku poets writing with social awareness in the back of his or her mind. (N.Y.)

  2. When I encounter a sun-bathing stray cat, I feel at ease … … for a while.

    My grandma used to say to me, “ You know, a man faces seven enemies when he goes out.”

    For stray cats the situations are much worse.

    Every day and night they face hunger, thirst, chilly rain, intense sunlight, traffic accident, heinous cats and humans.

    Stray dogs tend to flock together. But stray cats almost live and die alone.

    But I know, they really want human affections.

    Of course, it’s not so easy for us to be trusted heartily by them.

    Okuyamato

  3. Your explanation reminds me of a garden and its resident plums, Nobuyuki. They cling to a place lying beneath the site of the Hamm’s Brewery family mansion. The mansion itself was removed decades ago.

    I think I called the garden ” a ruin”. Oh, dear … a condition familiar to my country of residence, and, stifling to Haiku composition despite the opinion that blotters my site more recently. Diatribes may fill an urgency, although action is required with it. The message is so often esoteric its lucky that no real authority might notice.

    May Day is almost here. As good an observation as one can create, I imagine.

    Thank you both for the kind response!

Leave a comment